No Lack of Gain

Welcome to the farm

Wow!!! I am shocked at how many of you read my first post. Thanks for the support. It really makes this journey more exciting!!!!

The purpose of this next post is two-fold. First, I downloaded the WordPress app for my phone, and really wanted to check it out. Please have some grace on me, as I am doing this whole thing from my phone!!!!! Second, yesterday I told you I am a woman who wears many hats, so I thought I’d let you have a little glimpse into my world.

Almost 4 years ago we purchased 10 acres not too far from town. I am a city girl, so living in the country has been a major adjustment, but one that I have adjusted pretty well to, if I do say so myself.

I’d like to introduce you to one of the other ladies here on the farm.

20120722-215423.jpg

This is Katy. She is a Saanen. It’s kind-of a funny story about how Katy came to live at our farm… I was in town one day running some errands and stopped by a friend’s house to drop some things off. Another lady (who has since become a dear friend of mine) was stopping by as well. We met for the first time in that driveway and she looked at me and asked, “Do you want a milk goat?”. Looking back I should have run, but I didn’t. A week later my husband and I were bringing Katy home, little did we know, that day would forever change our lives!!!!!

She is 3-4 years old, and is a bossy little lady. We’re both hard headed, but we do seem to get along pretty well. Katy is a milk goat. We’re still trying to figure out why we got her, but she has become part of our family.

20120722-221108.jpg

Katy is a serious milk producer. We’re talking up to two gallons a day!!!! We milked for almost two months and then almost two weeks ago decided to dry her up. We were overwhelmed with the lifestyle change, we couldn’t keep up with the process and were really just worn out… Problem is, a goat like this won’t just dry up. She will slow down, but we were told by her previous owner that she has milk all the time. We’ve been having to milk 2-3 times a week, just to keep her comfortable, but haven’t been able to use any of that milk. We’re currently trying to work out a schedule that works both for Katy and for us. This goat thing might be just as complicated as having children.

So shortly after Katy came, we noticed that she just wasn’t herself. After talking and researching, we realized that Katy was depressed. Yes, that’s right folks, I just said that the goat was depressed!!!! I’m not a lovey dovey animal person, so that really is an odd statement for me, but it is true. Goats can’t be alone. They need another goat or they will just lay down and die. I guess they’re like humans, they need companionship. So we were on a quest for (get this) another goat.

20120722-223302.jpg

So meet the other lady on our farm. This is Emily. She came named “M”. Her previous owner said that her horns looked like the letter M, so it stuck. We intend to get her horns removed and therefore changed her name to Emily. Emily is small. She is just over a year old. When she came she was super skittish. We couldn’t get within 30 feet without her taking off running. We have worked and worked and worked with Emily, and she will now come close (especially when I have food). She likes to come and sit at my feet and eat as I am milking Katy. We still have a long way to go before Emily will be milkable, but are excited to have her on our farm.

20120722-231156.jpg

So there you have it folks. You’re probably beginning to wonder,”who are these crazy people?”. Check back in a few days. Who knows what kind of random knowledge you’ll leave with!!!

1 Comment

  1. fun! Your farm is always changing 🙂

Leave a Reply

