No Lack of Gain

Hello blogging world!

WOW!!!! Here I am writing my very first blog post! As I sit here banging my head against the wall trying to think of a more creative title, I realize that it doesn’t much matter because who’s really reading this anyways? I’m sure I will come up with a super creative title at about 2 am as I am trying to sleep, but for now, here it is!

A little about me… I am Leslie Cole, Lover of Jesus, wife to an amazing husband, and mother to three handsome little boys. I wear so many hats in life, I would be hard-pressed to list them all, so I’ll leave you wondering, “Who is this crazy lady?”

That said, I am super busy, and don’t really have time for one more thing in my life, so why blog? I’ve always enjoyed writing, I am ready for something in my life to be all about me (selfish, I know.) and I really feel like God keeps leading me down this path.

So here we are! Once it was established that I would be blogging. There was one decision to be made… a name. I didn’t realize it at first, but once I started thinking about it, I realized that this is a really BIG deal. I mean, once I start, it is there… FOREVER. I have contemplated this topic for MONTHS now. About 3 weeks ago, I thought I had one, and then it was gone. No longer available, someone else got it. grrrrr. Happy for them, but WHAT ABOUT ME?!?!?! (See, there’s that selfish side again.)

I had just about given up, until… A few days ago I was spending some quiet time with Jesus and He led me to reading Proverbs 31. This is a passage that is often referred to in Women’s Bible Studies, and for me, is one that can be super convicting, but I continue to read it. There is one particular verse that has spoken to me many times throughout the years, and I strive to live by.

The heart of her husband trusts in her,

And he will have no lack of gain. Proverbs 31:11

At first glance this is a verse that could easily be read through with not a lot of extra thought, but over the years it has become my anthem. No Lack of Gain. To me it means not being wasteful of what my husband has worked for. It means stretching the dollar. Putting together a nice meal without spending hundreds of dollars at the grocery store. Re-using things around the house. Not always having the newest things, but valuing what we have. My husband works hard and provides well for our family, but I work just as hard at the house to grow and stretch that money so that we would have more freedom to use the money, entrusted to us, to glorify God.

So there it is. No Lack of Gain. Thanks for reading, I pray you have enjoyed it, and I hope you come back soon!!!! Feel free to leave a comment and let me know what you think.

4 Comments

  1. marissa

    Great job. I enjoyed it girl. keep it up.

  2. Fun name! Welcome to the world of blogging! Can’t wait to read many more posts and thoughts!

  3. JoAnn Cheek

    I love it Leslie! I love your down to earth honesty, love the name, and your story of how you came up with it! You truly do an excellent job of stretching the dollars and using them wisely. I have told Emory several time that you are a great example to me of being a good steward of what God has given you. I am often convicted by your frugalness. Thanks for sharing your blog!

  4. ReeseOriginals

    Awesome Leslie! Looking forward to you next entry!

Leave a Reply

