No Lack of Gain

Banana Oatmeal Muffins

You’re back. I’m so glad you made it. The fact that you are even reading these words is close to a miracle. I have now written this post in full twice. I love writing, but the technical side of this blogging thing is more challenging than it seems, at least for a not so techie gal like myself.

Ok, so on to the real topic of today’s post. With three boys in the house we go through tons of fruit. So much, that I typically buy 2-3 large bunches of bananas each week. My kids love bananas and would eat them non-stop if I would let them, but alas I am afraid they may turn into bananas so I try to keep tabs on the banana gorging.

Even with all of that banana craziness, somehow this always happens.

20120724-141130.jpg

Please tell me that I am not the only one who ends up with brown bananas on my counter? OK, not every week, but once a month or so there are a few brown bananas around. I have gotten good at throwing them in a Ziploc bag in the freezer, but I haven’t perfected pulling them out and actually tackling the daunting task of making banana bread. I mean I love the stuff, it is just time consuming. You know, it takes prep, time to bake, and then there is always a big mess to clean up.

Not with this recipe. It is super easy and so fast, and you don’t have to be Martha Stewart to tackle this one, I promise.

We’re not a gluten-free family, but we have some friends who just moved super close to us and they are, so I have been paying more attention to these recipes. I came across this recipe a few weeks ago. I tried it and have tweaked it a bit to our liking, substituting ingredients that are typically in our house all of the time.

Ingredients:

-Old Fashioned Oats (not the quick cook stuff)

-Honey

-Bananas

-Plain Yogurt

-Baking Soda

-Baking Powder

-Eggs

-Pinch of Salt

(Full recipe is at the end of this post)

20120724-141147.jpg

Go ahead and gather all of the ingredients. Then dust off that old blender, that’s right, get the blender out an plug it in

And just in case you’re keeping score, yes I forgot to pull the eggs and salt out for the picture, but I’m sure you’re way cooler than I am.

20120724-141213.jpg

Next, you’re going to dump all of the ingredients into the blender. After making this a few times I have noticed that this works 1,000 times better if you put all of the wet ingredients in first and then top it off with the oats.
Once all of the ingredients are in, fire up that blender and let it work it’s blender magic.

20120724-141227.jpg

If you have a decent blender, then you can probably just walk away without much fuss. This would be a great time to make sure your oven is on because you almost ready to pop these bad boys in, that’s right it really is this easy. Give it a couple of minutes so that all of the oats are blended. I usually need to scrape around the top once and blend for a few more seconds.

While the blender is running, prep your muffin pan. The original recipe said not to use papers, but one of my most despised kitchen tasks is cleaning muffin tins, so I used papers with a little squirt of oil and thought it worked out great.

20120724-141238.jpg

Then pour the batter in to the muffin papers. You can fill them fuller than with traditional muffins since they don’t rise quite as much as their gluten-filled counterparts.

Then, go ahead, pop them in the oven. All you have to wash is your blender, maybe a scraper if you used one, and your measuring cups and spoons. How much easier does it get?
You even have plenty of time to make a pot of coffee while their baking.

20120724-141246.jpg

Then pull this wonderful baked goodness out of the oven. These are so simple, easy, and delicious.

20120724-150754.jpg

Now that you’ve done some baking and cleaned up your mess, grab a muffin and your nice hot coffee (or tea) and go enjoy your favorite blog. You deserve a break!!!!

Banana Oatmeal Muffins

-2 1/2 cup oats (old fashioned kind, not quick cooking)

-3/4 cup Plain yogurt

-2 eggs

-1/2 cup honey

-1 1/2 tsp baking powder

-1/2 tsp baking soda

-2 bananas

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. Place all of the ingredients, including bananas in a blender, and blend until oats are smooth.
3. Divide batter among cupcake liners, and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.
4. Enjoy!!!

Signature

Linking up to SS&GF, Kelly the Kitchen Kop, Gluten Free Homemaker, Tessa the Domestic Diva, The Nourishing Gourmet, and Real Food Forager. Go check them out.

8 Comments

  1. I’ve made these before and they are dedfinately a favorite in our house!

    • So glad Carolyn!!!! My boys love these and I love that they are healthy!!!!

  2. redladybug18

    sounds super easy! Makes me want to do my own recipe in the blender :) My blog address is…xanga.com/redladybug18 or my photo one that I don’t post as much info on is…gabriellecole.com

    • Oh, thanks Gabrielle. I’ll have to check out your blog. Yes these are wonderfully simple. You should definitely try them.

  3. I’m always looking for a good gluten free recipe. Several of my friends have a gluten allergy. I’d love to have you link this up to Tasty Thursdays on The Mandatory Mooch. http://mandatorymooch.blogspot.com/2012/08/tasty-thursdays-2.html

    Thanks, Nichi

    • Thanks Nichi. I’d love to come check you out!!!!!

  4. BJ

    1/2 of what HONEY?

    • Yes, that would be 1/2 cup. Thanks for catching this BJ. Now to see if I can figure out how to fix it!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

